In. The. Beginning.

In. The. Beginning. Photo (c) 2012 Peach Farm Studio.

In the beginning, every project around here begins with a sketch done in pen or pencil (whichever happens to be most convenient when inspiration strikes) on napkins, paper bags, scrap paper or (if within arm’s reach) a sketchpad. Ideas are solidified with a trusty black Sharpie (of which there are boxes and boxes full here). Then, when it is time to play with ideas for colors (long before mixing inks and choosing paper) the Prismacolors are engaged.

This is how we begin.

How do your projects begin?

4 responses to “In. The. Beginning.

  1. Usually the inception is strictly spontaneous brain-combustion, whether driven by a passing sight or moment or word or growing out of a long and convoluted and sometimes-derailed train of thought. But *then* it moves to either notes or sketches (can’t beat those Sharpies and Prismacolors, can you!) at some point and begins to take concrete form.

  2. Hi there,

    I must say that I’m pretty messy about my projects… hehe I don’t plan them I just take my favorite pencil (Mirado 3B) and the drawing flows… I usually use prismacolors for coloring but when I choose acrylics or watercolors i redraw my original idea in a bigger and stronger paper to support the process.

Leave a Reply

