FREE. Bookmarks.

FREE. Letterpress. Bookmarks. Photo (c) 2012 Peach Farm Studio.

Greetings!

Welcome to The FREE Letterpress Bookmark Project!

(The FREE Letterpress Bookmark Project ended on December 31, 2012.)

To celebrate good old fashioned books printed on paper, to support literacy, to bring awareness  letterpress printing, to re-purpose scraps of art paper and to provide you, our esteemed readers with a little gift from Peach Farm Studio, we are creating a variety of special edition of hand-typeset, letterpress printed bookmarks and we are giving them away — FREE!

Here’s why we are doing this:

We have a soft spot in our hearts for good old fashioned books — the kind printed on paper. (Nothing against electronic versions of books and all the associated gadgetry — so, no hard feelings, okay? – but they just aren’t as cozy as curling up with a book, a blanket, maybe a cat or dog and flipping pages literally, not virtually.) Nostalgia? Perhaps. Either way, in addition to books printed on paper, we love bookstores and love the feeling of sitting in a library or bookstore, especially the ones that have a little sitting area and the smell of coffee wafting throughout the building from a coffee bar or from a cafe next door. And of course we love letterpress —  it’s what we do.

Here’s how you can get ten (10) special edition, hand set, letterpress printed bookmarks from Peach Farm Studio:

  1. Post a comment on this blog, on any of our posts between now and March 31, 2012 DECEMBER 31, 2012 AND in your comment be sure to list the title and author of your top three favorite [printed on paper] books.
  2. ALSO send a letter-sized, self-addressed, stamped envelope to: Peach Farm Studio, c/o ZenGei Works, P.O. Box 3665, Santa Rosa, CA 95402, U.S.A.

That’s it! After we receive your letter-sized, self-addressed, stamped envelope in the mail we will put 10 of the special edition bookmarks in the envelope and mail them back to you. (The 10 bookmarks weigh about as much as a standard letter, so standard letter postage is sufficient.) It is that simple! (We promise we won’t share or use your address for anything else, except perhaps to send you am occasional hand-typeset, letterpress “Happy Holiday” or some such card from Peach Farm Studio.)

Disclaimers:

  1. This offer is only good through March 31, 2012 DECEMBER 31, 2012. Self-addressed, stamped envelopes we receive on or after April 1, 2012 January 1, 2013 will be returned empty. Sorry about that, but we will be moving onto another fun project at that time.
  2. One envelope per name or address only, please.
  3. The design, colors, fonts, paper, images, text and inks used to make the bookmarks may vary from bookmark-to-bookmark due to the nature of this project, however we can assure you that all of the bookmarks will be hand typeset and letterpress printed by Peach Farm Studio. We hope you will enjoy what we come up with. Sorry, no returns or exchanges.
  4. Allow up to 4 weeks for delivery. (We’ll be printing as fast as we can, but knowing we have the extra time if we need it will help.)
  5. Feel free to tell your friends about this offer. The more, the merrier!
  6. We will post this offer several times on this blog, our Facebook, Twitter and Tumbler pages, in order to tell as many people possible about this offer, so thanks for bearing with us if you see the post more than once.
  7. If you have any questions, please ask us.

Long live books printed on paper and letterpress printing!

157 responses to “FREE. Bookmarks.

  1. Pingback: Sweet Treats « creativityorcrazy·

  2. This is wonderful! Thanks so much… It is so difficult to narrow it down to just three. Here are my top 3 :
    The Journals of Sylvia Plath – by Ted Hughes
    Creative Time and Space : Making Room for Making Art – by Rice Freeman-Zachery
    Eat, Pray, Love – by Elizabeth Gilbert

  3. I recently heard of a speech that someone was giving, to persuade people to keep bound books instead of going digital. I was thrilled! I am a bound-book girl, all the way. Except possibly on long car trips. I can’t fit enough books in my backpack then.
    Please know that there can be no order of importance in this list, and that if I wanted to, I could deluge you with many more (but I won’t) ;)
    — Pilgrim’s Inn, by Elizabeth Goudge
    — Clouds of Witness, by Dorothy Sayers
    — the Screwtape Letters, Mere Christianity, and all the Chronicles of Narnia, by C.S. Lewis. Sorry, I just had to put all those in there.

    Many thanks!

  4. Pingback: Our Personal Libraries « Mere Inkling·

  5. We’re doing the best we can to keep instilling a love for the (literally) printed page in our kids and grandkids… but the digital sirens are terribly alluring…

    Three favorites:
    1. The Jewish & Christian Bible. Many writers, one Author.
    2. The Great Divorce by C.S. Lewis.
    3. The Videssos series by Harry Turtledove.
    Plus a few more:
    4. Lord of the Rings by J.R.R. Tolkien.
    5. The Lost Regiment series by William Forstchen.
    6. The Janissaries series by Jerry Pournelle.

  6. I’m a fan of what you guys do, also like anything exchanged, hand to hand with heartfelt intention attached. Without overthinking, some favourite books would be:

    1. I Heard the Owl Call My Name by Margaret Craven
    2. Peace Like a River by Leif Enger
    3. No Great Mischief by Alistair MacLeod

  7. This is a brilliant project! I saw you guys at makerfaire a few weeks ago, loved it!
    My favourite books:
    1) Pride & Prejudice, by Jane Austen
    2) Too Loud a Solitude, by Karl Capek
    3) basically all of the Harry Potter books, by JK Rowling :)

  8. Love this website and this clever idea! I bought myself a Kindle, which I enjoy for the convenience, but I also love the feel of a book. And you can’t beat wandering through a bookstore.

    My 3 titles would be:
    1. Walking by Thoreau
    2. Listening for Coyote by William L. Sullivan
    3. The Creative License by Danny Gregory

    Bring on my bookmarks!

  9. My favourite three that I can think of right now:
    The Year of Magical Thinking – Joan Didion
    The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
    Atonement – Ian McEwan

    I’m from India and I’m glad you have a stamp-exchange policy in place! How much do the bookmarks weigh (for the stamps)? :)

  10. What a thoughtful and generous project. Very inspiring. I love books and have shelves of them that I can’t part with. These are well-known, not very unique choices, but they are the ones that evoked much feeling inside me.
    1) One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
    2) East of Eden by John Steinbeck
    3) The Pilgrimage by Paulo Coehlo

  11. not sure if my comment posted the first time, so i’m posting again just in case as i’d love to have your bookmarks hold my place.

    how i love books printed on paper, and i’ve much enjoyed your letterpress art and inspiration.
    i can hardly choose my top 3 books, but here are 3 i love:

    1. The Horse and His Boy – C.S. Lewis
    2. Hannah Coulter – Wendell Berry
    3. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen

    • Hi ellysgarden. Thank you for your posts and for participating in this project. Lewis and Austen have provided the world with such great classics and Mr. Berry is such a wise fellow, isn’t he?! Thanks for sharing your list of books with us. We’re looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile, happy book reading!

  12. what a delightful idea. i love books on paper, and i’ve been enjoying your art of letterpress.
    and oh it is difficult to choose my top 3 books, but here are 3 i love.

    1. The Horse and His Boy – C.S. Lewis
    2. Hannah Coulter – Wendell Berry
    3. Pride and Prejudice- Jane Austen

  13. Top 3? Only 3? That’s so hard . . .
    The English Patient, Michael Ondaatje
    The Cellist of Sarajevo, Steven Galloway
    Lord of the Rings (trilogy), J. R. R. Tolkien

  14. Hi Peach Farm studio! Glad to have stumbled upon your wonderful blog today. I too am a huge fan of real letter presses and real paper, bindings, ink, and all that used to mean ‘a book.’ I also would like to jump on the bandwagon and receive your (I am sure) lovely bookmarks, and have had to think hard about my favorite three books. Since you realize this is an impossible thing to ask of a reading person, I will simply give three books which I have found inspiring and fascinating this year.
    1. The Conjurer’s Bird, by Martin Davies
    2. The History of Love, by Nichole Krauss
    3. Keeping the World Away, by Margaret Forster
    4. (sorry I know I am cheating, but can’t help it) Angelology, by Danielle Trussoni

    All fascinating stories of one sort or another. Thanks for your generosity with this bookmark project. Looks like you all must have quite a special spot up there in N. California. Except for Oregon, (my personal favorite place on earth), Northern California could be a close second for outrageous natural beauty…. you are fortunate! cheers, SB

    • Hi singingbones. Go glad you found us! Come back and visit our blog anytime. The lights are always on. Thank you for sharing your list of “inspiring and fascinating” books from this year. We’ll be basking in the sun ;) awaiting the arrival of your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile, enjoy reading more books!

  15. Hello!!
    I almost have too many favorite books to only list 3! :-)

    1. The Yellow Wallpaper (Now… I know this isn’t a book, however, it’s still a favorite!)- Charlotte Perkins Gilman
    2. Animal Farm- George Orwell
    3. The Body Project- Joan Jacobs Brumberg

    I really enjoy your blog!! Thank you so much for brightening my day!

    Ashley

  16. Pingback: Anne Fadiman: “Never Do That To A Book” « Jenny Arch·

    • Hi icydaylight. Delightful book choices — love Griffin & Sabine, The Golden Mean, Sabine’s Notebook, etc. We’re looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile, happy book reading!

  17. I’ve just come across your blog and very generous offer.

    I have an unusual favorite book: Cape Light, a book of photographs by Joel Meyerowitz. The book helps me remember some of the wonderful ways the seemingly unique sunlight of Cape Cod entertained me during my four years there many years ago.

    My other two favorite books are Catch-22, for its irreverence, and Yertle the Turtle by Dr. Seuss for its message that everyone has the power to change the world.

    My envelope will go in the mail tomorrow.

    • Hi educationontheplate. That’s quite an assortment of favorite books! Love that Yertle is included in the mix. (For that matter, Horton Hears a Who is another good one.) We’re looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile, happy book reading!

  18. Hooray for real books (and bookmarks!)

    It’s so hard to pick just three.

    The Catcher in the Rye – J.D. Salinger
    To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
    A Tree Grows in Brooklyn – Betty Smith

  19. Pingback: FREE Letterpress Bookmarks available thru December 12, 2012 « Peach Farm Studio·

  20. While I cannot get the bookmarks, American stamps are not available here, I can share from a recent post I did about books on one of my blogs.

    “All good and true book-lovers practice the pleasing and improving avocation of reading in bed … No book can be appreciated until it has been slept with and dreamed over.”
    ― Eugene Field, The Love Affairs of a Bibliomaniac

    literary sensibilites

    if image is “everything”

    does that not judge

    the book by the cover

    so many books

    have nestled snugly

    in my grip

    from the tattered

    paperback

    to the pristine

    hardback

    in a designer

    jacket

    truth be told

    the smoothly worn

    paperback

    well loved by

    a previous reader

    dog-eared pages

    notes penciled in

    make it evident

    the love shared

    with another reader

    kindle be dammed

    intimacy with words

    demands pages I can turn

    kindle will not

    soak up my tears

    nor dribbles of café

    and will not sit quietly

    on a shelf

    awaiting discovery by

    future generations

    it will lie in a landfill

    with other toxic “disposables”

    a casualty to latest technology

    bisous,

    léa

    • Hi leamuse. Thank you for the beautiful quote and poem! We are glad you are interested in our little project! It is open to all countries. As it turns out, we have know of a private stamp collector who does stamp exchanges. So, go ahead and send us your envelope with stamps from your country. In turn, we’ll give Mr. Stamp Collector the stamps and he’ll give us the US postage equivalent (or at least close enough to it), so we will be able to send a batch of bookmarks to you. So far we have sent bookmarks this way to Italy, France, England, Belgium, Australia, India, Canada and other places too. :D

  21. I just realized that I never posted my favorite books or sent my letter. I’m glad there’s still time. My favorite 3 books:
    Steppenwolf by Herman Hesse
    Dishwasher by Pete Jordan
    Because a Little Bug Went Ka-Choo by Rosetta Stone (aka Dr. Seuss)

    I’m really excited about receiving these bookmarks. Thanks a lot.

  22. Pingback: Art. Poetry. Bookmarks. « Peach Farm Studio·

  23. I just received my envelope in the mail today, and wanted to let you know how much I appreciate your endeavor! The bookmarks are lovely, and the bay leaves smell absolutely fantastic:)

    Whoever you are, Peach Farm Studio, I will think of you while I cook with them!

    Thank you:)

  24. My top two are easy for me. “Siddhartha” by Hermann Hesse, and “The Art Spirit” by Robert Henri. Deciding on a third is more difficult. “Tales of Ordinary Madness” by Charles Bukowski.

  25. This is an awesome idea. And free bookmarks?! Aw yeah. Okay, here’s my list:

    1. 1984 by George Orwell
    2. The Stranger by Albert Camus
    3. The Poisonwood Bible by Barbara Kingsolver

    I’ll send the envelopes soon!

    • Thank you very much. “1984”, “Stranger”, “Poisonwood” — ooooh chilling! Thank you for sharing your list. We’re looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile, happy book reading!

  26. This is so cool of you. I’ve been following this blog and always find your posts inspiring. They are like little reminders during the day to stop and look at things differently.

    Anyway, my three favorite books will be tough to pick. Not that I have read such a huge amount of them, but more that I am forgetful.

    But today, I will pick:

    1. A Tree Grows in Brooklyn – Betty Smith
    2. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
    3. Travels With Charley – John Steinbeck

    The first 2 are ones I have actually read multiple times, which I think is key to becoming a favorite. The Iast one I only just read a few months ago although it had been on my to-do list for a long time!

    -Kathleen

    • Thank you very much. Yes, inspiration, as it turns out is everywhere! Smith, Plath, Steinbeck — nice! Thank you for sharing your list. We’re looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile, happy book reading!

  27. RECEIVED!
    Oooooo, they’re wonderful indeed. I love their shape, colors, fonts and above all… I ADORE their smell. I take a sniff at them from time to time, and it makes me feel soooo good!

    And…
    what about the message from Wry? It made my heart beating so fast. I haven’t been reading at something written by an old typewriter for YEARS. I absolutely m.u.s.t. go to my native town and search for my old Olivetti. Where is she now? I miss her so much.

    And…
    the splendid idea of the signature! Old pince-nez actually could have folding frames. So, together with dear Wry from the Twenties, there is some charming character over there wearing vintage glasses. MYSTERIOUS! I begin thinking that some investigation will be necessary.

    Well, waiting to have enough money to come over there from Italy to investigate, I send you a BIG KISS ON THE NOSE and say, thank you so much for your highly appreciated present.

    Enjoy your work at Peach Farm Studio :)

    • So glad to know the envelope made its way back over the ocean to you safely and that the ink-aroma lingers on! Yes, you must search for “Olive”, surely she will be glad to be reunited with you. Once you find her, a little trip to the typewriter spa for a manicure, oil massage and a new ribbon for her hair will help her get up and running smoothly again! As for the glasses, myopia is a good thing for letterpress printers. If we weren’t at least a little myopic our print works would probably look like a Monet painting, beautiful but completely and entirely illegible. If you do find yourself on this side of the pond, the wine region that we are surrounded by is especially beautiful during the harvest season in late summer and early fall.

      Cheers, thank you and enjoy!

      • You are SURROUNDED by a >>>wine region<<<?
        Gosh. That's terrific. I love good wine. And, as for this, it's all ok where I live, in the North of Italy, the region of Piedmont so famous worldwide for its extremely good wines. But I know very well that USA's wines are as good as Italian ones, and so, well, I took a note on my diary, to drop in towards the end of August (or better, on early September), just in time for grape picking :)

        Olive, my dear Olive… I'm sure that Wry would find her extremely attractive. I'll let you know about the search.

        Myopia, myopia, myopia… I too wear glasses for this reason, but I hate wearing glasses so I put on them just when I'm obliged to. And…the…world… is… so fabulous without glasses. yes. Maybe, my creations are being affected by this behaviour?

        • Yes, we are in the middle of Sonoma County, a wine region. Napa County, also a wine region is 45 minutes to the east. San Francisco, not a wine region but it is good place to shop for art paper, is 45 minutes to the south. The Pacific Ocean, also not a wine region, but it is a good place if you like to eat oysters, hike and get seasick on salmon fishing boats, is 45 minutes (or less) to the west. To the north is more grapes, more salmon, trees, hills and eventually you get to Mendocino where they have fog, a wonderful art center and make tasty panforte to have with tea. :)

  28. Pingback: (FREE.) In. The. Mail. « Peach Farm Studio·

  29. Thank you for offering to send bookmarks, can I use the stamp exchange thingy? I’ll be sending my envelope from the UK. By letter sized do you mean DL? Not sure if we use the same sizes in the UK, I think possibly not. Do you have approximate dimensions?

    My top 3 books are:

    1. Alice’s Adventures in Wonderland – Lewis Carroll
    2. A Nice Cup of Tea and a Sit Down – Nicey and Wifey
    3. The Hound of the Baskervilles – Arthur Conan Doyle

    Lorna :)

  30. Pingback: Making. It. So. « Peach Farm Studio·

  31. Reblogged this on carriebaker[archived] and commented:
    Peach Farm Studios is offering a limited-time-only deal of getting ten hand-printed book marks from their presses, just to spread the word about their work. You should absolutely check it out! It’s all done on March 31st, so time’s almost out. Investigate, kids.

  32. This is such a great idea for a printing project! I’m totally mailing an envelope TODAY. I’m always thrilled to find people as avid about traditional printmaking as I am!

    Three favorite books:
    “Wind, Sand, and Stars” by Antoine de Saint Exupery
    “Brave New World” by Aldous Huxley
    “Crime and Punishment” by Dostoevsky

    If you need anything, let me know!
    -Carrie

    • Hi cjbarchived. Thank you very much. We’re sharing our love for letterpress printing and books printed on paper with the world. Thanks for your list of awesome books! (Love “BNW”.) Looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile, enjoy reading and printing!

  33. Okay, okay, I’ve been very slow to get the right sized envelope. But I’m ready now – so I have to decide on my three favorite books. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm:) I don’t know if I have true favorites, but the three that I’ve found myself drawn to the most are:

    Jonathan Strange and Mr Norrell by Susanna Clarke
    The House on the Strand by Daphne du Maurier (or her nonfiction Enchanted Cornwall)
    A compilation of John Donne’s work entitled ‘The Complete English Poems’

    phew, I did it!

  34. Hello Peach Farm! I wanted to see some of your bookmarks, so here goes! My favorite books are The Great Gatsby (had my copy since 1994), a beautiful hardback paper/press sample book featuring O. Henry stories that I found at a used book store in college, and my original copy of To Kill a Mockingbird that I marked up in my 6th grade English class :-) I’ll send an envelope shortly!

    • Hi friedgreendesign. You’ve got a great collection of favorites! Love that you have your copy of Mockingbird from 6th grade! We’re looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile, happy reading!

  35. Love this idea! Only problem is, I’m from Canada!! I’m without any American stamps for a self-addressed envelope! Any idea for solving this problem??
    Three of my favourite (I’ve got so many!) are:
    1. The Poisonwood Bible, by Barbara Kingsolver
    2. Wuthering Heights, by Emily Bronte
    3. Anna Karenina, by Leo Tolstoy

    • Hi katherinemartinko. We are glad you are interested in our little project! It is open to all countries. As it turns out, we know of a private stamp collector who does stamp exchanges (a novel concept). So, go ahead and send us your envelope with Canadian stamps. In turn, we’ll give Mr. Stamp Collector the stamps and he’ll give us the US postage equivalent (or at least close enough to it), so we will be able to send a batch of bookmarks to you. Thanks also for sharing your top books! We are looking forward to receiving your envelope and meanwhile wish you happy book reading!

  36. This is so fun, I can’t wait to see what mine will look like!
    3 of my favorite books (all-time) are:

    1) The House of the Spirits by Isabelle Allende
    2) Matilda Roald Dahl
    3) A Heartbreaking Work of Staggering Genius

    Thank you!

    • Hi oddlyrendered. You are very welcome! Thank you for sharing your favorite 3 books! Ah, Matilda is a delightful book! We are looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile happy reading!

  37. Here I am, at last!
    I just finished preparing my envelope and I’ll send it to you on Tuesday :)

    Three of my (million zillion) favorite REAL (paper) books are:

    -> ‘Gone With the Wind’, by Margaret Mitchell -> just wonderful!

    -> ‘Il Decamerone di Giovanni Boccaccio’, in the splendid modern Italian translation by Aldo Busi -> great Aldo!

    -> ‘The Carpet Makers’, by Andreas Eschbach -> one of my last discoveries: a very good, astonishing German Sci-fi writer.

    Thank you so much :)
    …….mmmmm can’t wait can’t wait can’t wait………

    • Hi EgleArtcrochet. Delightful! We’re looking forward to receiving your envelope. Classic American, Modern Italian, German Sci-Fi — NICE – a bit from here and there in the world and beyond!

  38. What a great idea! I have bookmark-sized letterpress paper scraps if you need a donation… Fave books:

    1. The Giver by Lois Lowry
    2. Wrinkle in Time, Wind in the Door and anything else by Madeleine L’Engle
    3. The Faith Club by Ranya Idleiby, Suzanne Oliver and Priscilla Warner

    All of these have changed the way I see the world!

    • Hi 622press. Thank you very much. Yes, we would be very happy to receive your letterpress paper scraps — we’ll turn them into bookmarks. Meanwhile, nice list of books — brings back memories!

  39. Pingback: Shakespeare. Rumi. Nin. (and Friends) « Peach Farm Studio·

  40. This is such a great project! Sending my envelope out to you today. :-)

    Three (of many!) favorite books:

    Great Gatsby – F. Scott Fitzgerald
    Cutting for Stone – Abraham Verghese
    Phantom Tollbooth – Norton Juster (a little throwback)

    xx
    Maggie

    • Hi nosurefooting. Than you very much. We’re looking forward to receiving your envelope. BTW – Phantom Tollbooth is a big favorite around here, has been for years!

  41. This is a great idea and I’d love to participate! Hm, let me see…there are so many books to choose from! Okay, in no particular orders here are my top three books:
    1. To Kill A Mockingbird – by Harper Lee
    2. Name Of The Rose – by Umberto Eco
    3. The Little Prince – by Antoine de Saint-Exupery

    Next, I will be sending my self-addressed envelope within this week! Looking forward to your letterpress bookmarks! My husband and I love letterpress so much we have just started our own little shop called DIstrict Dogs Designs!

    Cheers,
    K

  42. Hi there, Just wanted to check – did you receive my envelope OK before Christmas?
    … I realise that I didn’t put my book titles in the envelope. If that’s confused things I do apologise! I’m fine to wait until the end of March … just wanted to check. If you need to match me up to an envelope you received: You hopefully have an envelope with a postal address is Stoke onTrent England… my top 3 books at the moment are:
    Wuthering Heights – by Emily Bronte
    Wind Up Bird Chronicle – by Haruki Murakami
    Grayson Perry: Portrait of The Artist as a Young Girl – by Wendy Jones.

    • Hi dappledskydotcom. Thank you for the note. YES, we received your “Stoke on Trent, England” envelope and are glad to report your bookmarks will be put in the mail to you this coming week along with many other envelopes we’ve received. Meanwhile, thank you for your top 3 books list and for your delightful blog posts!

  43. Pingback: Success. Work. Play. « Peach Farm Studio·

  44. OMG!
    It’s very difficult to make a choice for a book maniac as I am.
    mmmmmm
    thinking thinking thinking……………
    Well, I’ll let you know.

    And oh, thank you so much, this is a splendid idea!
    I’ve got LOTS of …r.e.a.l… books EVERYWHERE in my home, and I’m used to put in each of them a bookmark, that will remain in there forever. Just in case I’m craving for reading it again………………………..

    • Hi EgleArtcrochet. We’re looking forward to finding out what your top three are. Under the circumstances, perhaps it will be easier if you simple turn the lights out and pick three in the dark, then write to let us know what you stumbled upon, or some such ploy…

  45. Pingback: Blue. Rain. Berries. « Peach Farm Studio·

  46. Letterpress shows the intimate relationship between image and light. The letterpress image takes in light, whereas the flat digital image rejects it. Three of my favorite printed books include: (1) A Lover’s Discourse by Roland Barthes; (2) The Collected Poems of Theodore Roethke; and (3) Intimate Boundaries, Selected Poems of Donna Fleischer

    • Hi donnafleischer. Absolutely! “Lover’s”, “Poems”, “Intimate” — feels like romance is in the air! Thank you for participating. Happy reading, writing and blogging!

  47. Pingback: Inspiration #64. Absolutely. Everywhere. « Peach Farm Studio·

  48. Pingback: Inspiration #62. Finding. Treasures. « Peach Farm Studio·

  49. I am so glad you liked my post and led me here; I love what you’re doing! I think letterpressed works are so incredibly beautiful.
    My top books:
    1. The Three Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
    2. The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes – Sir Arthur Conan Doyle
    3. The Hitchhikers Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams

  50. Hi! Wonderful idea – it’s great seeing others who appreciate the joy of the printed word.

    My top three:

    Jane Eyre, Charlotte Bronte
    A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, Betty Smith
    Their Eyes Were Watching God, Zora Neale Hurston

    Thanks for your generous offer!

    • Hi freesia0000. Thank you very much. You are very welcome! “Eyre”, “Brooklyn”, “Eyes” — lokes like the “y”s have it! We’re looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile, happy book reading!

  51. Pingback: from the Land of Books… « printmatter·

  52. I love books, actual paper books. I agree that the e-reader is great for the environment, but I must admit I was smug when the power went out in our neighborhood and I was able to read by battery powered light and my Mother-in-Law’s e-reader had died and there was no power to recharge it:) Best book I read last year was The Peach Keeper by Sarah Addison Allen, perfect for cozying up with a good cup of coffee.

  53. Hi Peach Studio, I love this idea but I live in the UK, can you still ship to me?
    My favourite books are:
    Secret Sacrament – Sherryl Jordan
    The Tempest – William Shakespeare
    Eat, Pray, Love – Elizabeth Gilbert

    Thanks! :)

    • Hi DomeniiNebunie. Thank you very much. Yes, we can. Scroll to the comment on this page that says something about “Mr. Stamp Collector” for information. (So far this month we have received “favorite book” comments and envelopes in the mail from the UK, Canada, Europe and various places across the US!) “Secret”, “Tempest”, “Love” — sounds like a sizzling novel in the making! We are looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile, happy book reading!

    • Oh man, I loved A Time of Darkness, The Juniper Game, and The Raging Quiet when I was a kid. Sherryl Jordan was my hero!

      A friend and I would pretend we had ESP and conduct experiments similar to those in The Juniper Game. I never used raw meat though:)

  54. Pingback: Book. Love. Video. « Peach Farm Studio·

  55. Hi Peach Farm Studio,

    I found your idea from a friend and really love it, it is so wonderful and generous.

    Here are my three:
    The Sot-Weed Factor by John Barth
    Monday Begins on Saturday by Arkady and Boris Strugatsky
    A Confederacy of Dunces by John Kennedy Toole

    Can’t wait. Many thanks,
    Maria

    • Hi moutonwee. Thank you very much and welcome! Glad to have you on board. “Sot”, “Saturday”, “Dunces” — seems like a low-key weekend is on the horizon. We are looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile, happy book reading!

  56. Hi Peach Farm,
    I’m a letterpress printer, also in Santa Rosa and was just searching the web to see if anyone out there is interested in the same stuff I am. Your concept of paper books and offer of free letterpress bookmarkers is fantastic.
    I had to think about my favorites, it was hard to limit it to three, but here goes.
    Gone With the Wind by Margaret Mitchell (In English and Spanish)
    The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett
    and
    To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee
    I don’t know much about blogs, but I would love to keep up with this one.
    Look for my envelope in the next few days and if you need any help with the bookmark printing, I’d be happy to oblige.
    Maria Ayala

    • Hi Maria. Thank you very much for the note and for introducing yourself. It’s a small world! Thanks also for participating in our project! “Wind”, “Garden”, “Mockingbird” — perhaps the changes spring brings are not all that far away. We are looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile, come back any time. The lights are always on!

  57. I just found Peach Farm Studio today while researching letterpress for some wedding invitations I’m designing… what a fun place :)

    And what a neat project! My top three books are:
    1. The Giver by Lois Lowry (I have multiple copies of this book)
    2. In Defense of Food by Michael Pollan
    3. The Last American Man by Elizabeth Gilbert

    Happy New Year!

    • Hi Adrienne N. Thank you very much and welcome! “Giver”, “Defense”, “Last” — where is our society heading, how can we learn from the past and how will we manage the future? (All great books!) We are looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Come back and visit us any time. The lights are always on!

  58. I love this idea, and I love letterpress! Thank you so much for finding my blog and checking it out. This project is inspiring and I can’t wait to get and share my bookmarks too!

  59. What a cool idea.
    Found your post through Smidge! Don’t you love her baking?
    Just wonderful.
    Check out my bookshelf photograph. It got more than 18, 000 hits cause of reedit and got a lot of criticism about being actual BOOKS.
    Just crazy.

    http://rutheh.com/2010/05/30/my-bookshelf/

    My top three books are
    The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe.
    Little House on the Prairie
    and Anne of Green Gables.
    I return to my childhood when I handle these volumes, hear my mother’s voice, reading to me.

    • Hi rutheh. Thank you very much! Your “My Bookshelf” is delightful! “Wardrobe”, “House” and “Gables” — feels like some home improvement projects are just around the corner. We are looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. And yes, Smidge’s baking — inspiring!

  60. This is awesome! I’m really excited about this idea.
    My top three favorite are:

    1. “A Language Older Than Words” – Derrick Jensen
    2. “Conquest of Bread” – Peter Kropotkin
    3. “Printing Press as an Agent of Change” – Elizabeth L. Eisenstein

    Envelope will be on its way soon. Thank you!!

    • Hi incendiarymediums. Thank you very much. We’re glad you’re on board. “Language’, “Conquest”, “Agent” — sounds like a wartime spy-cipher novel set in Europe. We’re looking forward to receiving your envelope in the mail. Meanwhile, happy blogging!

    • Hi thoughtsontheatre. Thank you very much. Sad would be the day when all the wonderful book-filled libraries and book stores closed their doors for good, having been replaced by an anonymous cloud full of downloadable books.

  61. What a great idea! I love it!

    Here are my three favorites:

    The sun also rises, Ernest Hemingway
    In search for lost time, Marcel Proust
    Tender is the night, F. Scott Fitzgerald

    Can’t wait to see what you come up with!

    • Hi labaleienoire. So glad to have you on board! Ah, “sun”, “time” and “night” — a good reminder that the days are getting longer, nights shorter and more time to play! We are looking forward to receiving your envelope. Happy New Year!

  62. This is a truly wonderful thing you are doing. You are generous people, and that shines through your writing as much as your free items. To participate, here are my three books.

    1. Captain Blood – Rafael Sabatini
    2. The Scarlet Pimpernel – Baroness Orczy
    3. Persuasion – Jane Austen

    With thanks,

    Brandy M.

    • Hi anneelliot. Thank you very much. We really do love books printed on paper and are glad to provide a little something to share with like minded book lovers, like you.”Blood”, “Scarlet” and “Persuasion” — AH!, a red/burgundy inspiration for ink to use on a project! Thank you for participating. We look forward to receiving your envelope! Happy New Year!

  63. Great idea. I want to take part – I live in England, is this open to all countries?
    This might be a silly question ( but I’m going to ask it anyway …) If I put UK stamps on my self addressed envelope will the US mail service send the envelope? If not, what’s the solution?
    I’d love to take part.

    Here are my Top 3 books:
    Wuthering Heights – by Emily Bronte
    Wind Up Bird Chronicle – by Haruki Murakami
    Grayson Perry: Portrait of The Artist as a Young Girl – by Wendy Jones.

    P.S – I’m running an arts exchange project called Made to Exchange on my DappledSky wordpress site. You and your followers might be interested to join in with that too. Here is a link to the page http://dappledsky.com/2011/11/25/made-to-exchange-join-in/

    Hope you can help about the stamp question!
    Deb

    • Hi Deborah. We are glad you are interested in our little project! Yes, it is open to all countries. As it turns out, we have know of a private stamp collector who does stamp exchanges (a novel concept). So, go ahead and send us your envelope with UK stamps. In turn, we’ll give Mr. Stamp Collector the stamps and he’ll give us the US postage equivalent (or at least close enough to it), so we will be able to send a batch of bookmarks to you. Thanks also for sharing your top books! We’ve read some Bronte and Murakami, but haven’t read Jones. We’ll check out Jones as well as your Made to Exchange project on your blog. We are looking forward to receiving your envelope and wish you a Happy New Year!

  64. I love it! I seem to recall my first comment on your blog was in response to your quandary about using paper cut-offs from a printing project: paper chains, or some such. I’ll get my envelope into the mail. Books on paper, postal service, where will it end? 2012 could be alright.

    • Hi sanslartigue. Yes! In the end we thought the paper cut-offs may as well be put to use in a positive and meaningful way… and with a little elbow grease and some nice ink, The FREE Letterpress Bookmark Project is born! Ta-da! We’ll be on the lookout for your envelope. Meanwhile, Happy New Year!

  65. Hiya! ;)

    I’m interested in doing a ‘Thank You’ gift to my subscribers, would you be interested in working on a project with me if I gave you some press on my blog?

    I love what you stand for and it’s funny we just happened to find likemindness in our bloggin’ thoughts within the last few days.

    Let’s talk!

    M

    • Hi thirtyfourflavors. Yes, let’s talk. We were going to wait until 1/2/2012 to launch the bookmarker project, but when we saw the video on your blog about the paper guy and the letterpress guy, we decided not to wait 3 more days to launch, so we sent this out into the world last night, a little earlier than originally planned. Look for an email from us…we can brainstorm further… Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

